• Private Piano, Guitar, Violin Teachers and Piano Tuners:
     
    Parents: We recommend you have a "meet and greet" before signing on with any piano or guitar teacher you don't know. Find out the teacher's expectations both for your student and you as a parent. Consider these things before investing in private music lessons:
     
    *Does the teacher have an upbeat, supportive personality? Will my child enjoy working with this person?
    *Does the teacher have teaching credentials in piano pedagogy?  How long has this person been teaching?
    *Does the teacher have a studio policy and do I agree to its terms?
    *Am I willing to invest my money in lesson tuition and method books for my child?
    *Do I have a working instrument for my child to use?
    *Does my child understand that learning the instrument is a long term process.  It doesn't happen overnight! 
    *Does my child as well as myself, understand that practicing the instrument (at least 20 minutes, 5 times a week) has to happen to see progress?
    *Is my child mature enough to take on the responsibility of practicing and following through on the teacher's advice and assignments?  How is my child's fine motor coordination?
     
    PIANO TEACHERS IN SHAKOPEE AREA (Updated Aug.31, 2015):
     
    Elle Allen 952-403-1434
    Heidi Altringer (Red Oak) haltring@shakopee.k12.mn.us
    Olga Bobrovnyk (Chanhassen & Eden Prairie) 952-906-2135 olga8941@yahoo.com  
    Ione Butler (Burnsville) 952-288-4156
    Heather Christman 952-233-2669
    Marie Czaja 952-445-8071, czajami@comcast.net
    Charleen Degia 612-250-0943
    Linda Ellison (Eagle Creek Elementary) lellison@shakopee.k12.mn.us
    Erica Friesen 952-496-9434
    Kirsten Hanninen 763-300-7712 (available for home school students only)
    Jeremy Horvath 612-384-4935 Jeremy@minnesotamusicstudios.com
    Julie Lund 651-777-4921, lundmusic@msn.com  
    Candy Moffitt (Sweeney Elementary, Savage, and will come to homes) 952-210-1510,cmoffitt@shakopee.k12.mn.us
    Kerry Murphy 612-710-3397
    Ann Nimchuk (Eagle Creek Elementary) animchuk@shakopee.k12.mn.us
    Sue Nugent snugent@centurylink.net,(piano beginners & flute, beginner to advanced)
    Kathy Philipp 952-445-1979
    Lee Simmons 952-496-1447
     
    VIOLIN and GUITAR TEACHERS:
    Molly Clinefelter, violin: dellmolly@msn.com
    Ric Allen, guitar: 952-403-2434, rebat5@msn.com 
    Jeremy Horvath, guitar, piano, percussion: 612-598-0523, jeremy@minnesotamusicstudios.com
     
    PIANO TUNERS:
    Dave Swartz cell: 612-816-9154, dave@corycare.com
    Laursen Piano Service 952-988-9363 babygrands@laursenpiano.com