Meet the Board

Student School Board Members
student school board
  • Shakopee Public Schools is proud to have seven community members serve on its School Board. The Board of Education governs Shakopee School District #720. The School Board also hires the Superintendent; approves staff hiring's, resignations, terminations and leaves of absence; sets the annual local school levy; approves expenditures; approves educational programs; and ensures proper facilities and equipment are available to support teaching and learning in the District. The School Board is also highly engaged with the community that they serve and their continual focus is on the educational success of our students, and continued growth of our school community. 

    The seven board members are elected at large during the November general election in even-numbered years.  Four board members are up for election one year and the other three are up for election two years later. 

    As of May 16, 2022, Shakopee Public Schools also welcomed two (2) Shakopee High School students to serve as ex-officio members of the School Board. Michelle Sieberg (Class of 2025) and Shaunya Kumar serve as student representatives for the 2024/25 school year.  To learn more about Shakopee's partnership with the Minnesota School Boards Assocation (MSBA) to support student voice, click here.

    To learn more about a School Board Member, click on a Member's name below.

Current School Board Members